The archive service allows you to set a retention policy which will purge items from your archive older than a specified age (defined in years and months). Any items on hold for any reason will NOT be removed regardless of the retention policy. Only Administrators are able to make changes to the retention policy.
Upon activation of your archive account, a default retention policy of 7 years is applied.
The retention policy will act based on the received date of the original message NOT the archived date or the sent date.
Items purged via a retention policy will be deleted permanently by the system according to the policy applicable. It is important that you understand your Organisation's Data Retention Policies before enabling this feature and the subsequent consequences for applying an incorrect policy.
To update the retention policy for your account:
- Login as an Administrator
- Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner. Then click the Mange button next to Policies.
- Use the check box and the Years and Months fields to define the policy you want and click the Update button to save the changes.
Note: The retention duration is calculated from the number of calendar months and years from todays date. Also, the minimum retention policy allowed is 3 months.
If no retention policy is applied, then your data is retained indefinitely for the duration of your subscription of the archive service.