Before this tool can be enabled, please review the following article: Requesting the Data Deletion Tool
Note that this is a self service tool, usage of the tool is completely at your own risk and you should conduct your own due diligence as to whether this tool should be enabled and utilised.
To remove a specific message from your archive account, please follow the following directions:
- Create a search that specifically contains the data you need to remove. Save the search.
- Upon saving the search, the option will be available to delete an individual asset/message
- Select a single message in the search results you want to remove
- Click on the Delete option
- Verify your request to delete the message
- The message will be removed, in near realtime from your archive.
It should be noted that this feature will remove the message from your archive. It will no longer be available present itself in any search results.
- Any message deleted is permanent.
- Any deletion activities will be audited against the individual that performed the action.
- It is recommended that after enablement and usage of the tool, you should request the tool to be disabled, to protect your archive from any accidental or malicious or un-authorised actions by your administrators. Simply responding to your original support ticket, requesting for the tool to be disabled will be sufficient.
- Items that are placed on any legal hold cannot be selected for deletion, until they have been removed from all legal holds. Any attempt to do so will be presented with the following message:
Deleting multiple messages:
The tool will only allow you to delete a single message at any one time. If you have multiple messages to remove, you must initiate the delete process individually on each message